2018 Girls Like Us Chapbook Contest: for women, trans women, genderqueer, nonbinary, and female identifying writers. 

Judge: Tiana Clark

Opens: Sept. 1st, 2018
Closes: Oct 8th, 2018

Fee: $25

Prize: The winner will receive $1,000, chapbook publication, 50 author copies, plus 25 limited edition broadsides
Eligibility: The competition is open to all previously unpublished, chapbook-length (15-30 pages) manuscripts of poetry (loosely defined) written in English, regardless of the age, nationality, etc. of the author(s). Manuscripts that contain previously published poems are eligible, so long as the manuscript is unpublished as a collection. 

What We Like: We are looking for work that speaks to women, genderqueer and female identifying humans, written with them in mind. We want poems that make us forget to take a breath while we read, that stick around in our skulls long after we’ve put the page down, poems that feel like touching a bruise. As a collection: one with an arc or unified theme, some vein that connects the poems, particularly one rooted in a larger conversation.

The winning chapbook collection will be announced in February. 

Rabbit Catastrophe Press in dedicated to publishing writers marginalized from mainstream literary communities. If you are queer, of color, trans, disabled, or otherwise commonly excluded, we encourage you to submit. Any optional, personal information is welcome in your cover letter and will be kept confidential. While our goal is to find and celebrate an exceptional chapbook, we want to make it clear that Rabbit Catastrophe is a welcoming place for all writers.

All submissions should be sent through Submittable. Emailed submissions will not be considered.  Submit here.

About the judge: Tiana Clark is the author of Equilibrium, selected by Afaa Michael Weaver for the 2016 Frost Place Chapbook Competition. Her first full-length collection, I Can’t Talk About the Trees Without the Blood (University of Pittsburgh Press, forthcoming 2018), won the Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize. She is the winner of the 2017 Furious Flower’s Gwendolyn Brooks Centennial Poetry Prize, 2016 Academy of American Poets University Prize, and 2015 Rattle Poetry Prize. Her writing has appeared in or is forthcoming from the New Yorker, American Poetry Review, Kenyon Review, New England Review, Best New Poets 2015, BOAAT, Crab Orchard Review, Muzzle Magazine, Thrush, The Journal, and elsewhere. She recently graduated from Vanderbilt’s M.F.A. program where she served as the poetry editor of the Nashville Review. She is currently the 2017-2018 Jay C. and Ruth Halls Poetry Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute of Creative Writing. In the fall of 2018, she will be teaching creative writing at Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville. Tiana grew up in Nashville and southern California. She is a graduate of Tennessee State University where she studied Africana and Women's studies. Clark is the recipient of scholarships to the Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, Sewanee Writers' Conference, Frost Place Poetry Seminar, and New Harmony Writers Workshop.

Other Guidelines

  • No previously published collections will be accepted for publication.

  • Poems must be written in English.

  • Collaborative projects are allowed.

  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but we must be notified immediately if any poems are accepted elsewhere.

  • No cover sheet in your document is needed. Blind submissions are never really blind, so we are not even going to pretend. Any optional, personal information is welcome in your Submittable cover letter and will be kept confidential.

  • Multiple entries by a single poet are accepted. Each manuscript must be treated as a separate entry, each with an additional $25 fee.

  • Close friends and family of the Rabbit Catastrophe Press staff or the judge are ineligible. We define close friend as anyone we would invite to a slumber party.

  • No more than one poem per page (poems longer than one page are fine, though); use a legible, 12-point font like Times New Roman.

  • We are unable to consider revised versions of manuscripts during the contest, though the winner will have the opportunity to revise before publication.

Previous Winners

2017 - Misprison by Marina Weiss, chosen by Aracelis Girmay