2019 Real Good Poem Prize OPENS!


Real Good Poem Prize

Opens: March 1, 2019

Deadline: March 31st, 2019

Judge: Julia Johnson

Our annual single poem contest.  $1,000 for the winning poem, plus 25 original limited edition broadsides and publication in Rabbit Catastrophe Review. Finalists will also be published in RCR. Send up to three of your best REAL GOOD POEMS.

Rabbit Catastrophe Press is dedicated to publishing writers marginalized from mainstream literary communities. If you are queer, of color, trans, disabled, outside academia, or otherwise commonly excluded, we encourage you to submit. Any optional, personal information is welcome in your cover letter and will be kept confidential. While our goal is to find and celebrate an exceptional poem, we want to make it clear that Rabbit Catastrophe is a welcoming place for all writers.

The winner will be announced August 2018.

All submissions should be sent HERE. Emailed submissions will not be considered.

Other Guidelines

  • No previously published works will be considered.

  • Poems must be written in English. If the work is a translation, the original work must have not been previously published in English nor its original language.

  • Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but we must be notified immediately if any poems are accepted elsewhere. Submission fees cannot be refunded.

  • No cover sheet in your document is needed. Blind submissions are never really blind, so we are not even going to pretend. Any optional, personal information is welcome in your Submittable cover letter and will be kept confidential.

  • Multiple entries by a single poet are accepted. Each group of three poems must be treated as a separate entry, each with an additional $25 fee.

  • Close friends and family of the Rabbit Catastrophe Press staff and the judge are ineligible. We define close friends as anyone we would invite to a slumber party.

About the Judge

Julia Johnson is the author of three poetry collections: Subsidence (Groundhog Poetry Press, 2016), The Falling Horse (Factory Hollow Press, 2011), and Naming the Afternoon (LSU Press, 2002). She teaches creative writing at the University of Kentucky.

Past Winners

2018 - Hannah Craig, chosen by Kaveh Akbar
2017 - Kayleb Rae Candrilli, chosen by Jenny Johnson
2016 - Jami Macarty, chosen by Kiki Petrosino